Cerebral High

We never discussed politics,
not in bed anyway,
the art of making war where peace reigned
resigned to injustice where naked-
we were both the same.

Some innocence, bear beat and translucent
tumultuous but never arduous.
But,
when you spoke,
opiates configured the synapses between
my thighs,

wanderlust

you might judge
more to jousting than the
sombre edge to your notes
that relight in me the joy of what?
What used to be?
What I am now?

Slivers of opalescence from simplicity
hiding behind stubbled skin
subdued by olive eyes and creases,
just by the side of lips arched animated,
inviting.

Analytical dimorphism dissolved
into a comfortable blanket
where, for once, vulnerabitilty
belonged in that dictionary
kept locked in the back of my head.

Joyously I listened,
head pillowed in moment reeling
keening, for another word
of nothingness.

24 responses to “Cerebral High

  1. Fantastic! Love to get lost in pillow talk…and politics for that matter…(not so much in the bedroom, perhaps) This takes me back to when there was pillow talk…rather than just the snoring…oh dear, might be needing more than opiates 😉

  2. Amazingly GOOD… No recommendable to speak about certain issues when in other more intimate and serious issues… yet the way you put it is superb…

  3. oh snap…this is good shan…love,
    when you spoke,
    opiates configured the synapses between
    my thighs,
    that is hot…and def dont bring controversy into the intimacy…politics would surely shorten my stick

  4. Interesting exploration of the way “outside topics” make it into the bedroom. I had a guy friend once who quoted Richard Pryor – “if afterwards, your woman want to talk about stereo components, you have a lot more…f*n to do!” LOL! I like this…Looks like no more needs to be done. Excellent.

  5. Cerebral High? Did you go there, too? Class of?

    Silly me. You capture a way of being that can be wonderful if you can find it.

    when you spoke,
    opiates configured the synapses between
    my thighs

    The mind is the greatest aphrodisiac!

  6. Its as if a certain innocence is returned for a brief and beautiful moment ..when 2 souls hit those pillows ……which reminds me haven;t had a good pillow fight in ages ! great write thanks so much !

  7. Gorgeous. There is nothing like the closeness of sharing a pillow and all that the setting inspires. I have to read again. Darn shame that when I engage in pillow talk, I talk to myself. 😉

  8. I can just hear this being read in such a soft, comforting tone, Shan. I really find myself loving this…the romance of it…you do this well.

  9. Joyously I listened,
    head pillowed in moment reeling
    keening, for another word
    of nothingness.

    still love this piece…..

  10. liked this part the most:
    “Analytical dimorphism dissolved
    into a comfortable blanket
    where, for once, vulnerabitilty
    belonged in that dictionary
    kept locked in the back of my head.”
    Sounds raunchy but is intellectual also. 🙂
    Kudos!

  11. As a newly minted agnostic, I loved the hell out of this cynical but love-driven piece–

    It’s only nature,
    regurgitated anonymity
    sheeplike mentality.

    Wonderful! j

Put me out of my misery people!

