On the road to calcutta

Did you find your perdition 

in that dust bowl dance

of dead earthen particulates

glued tight between your toes?

 

 

You pondered on sandals and mother of pearl

to savour the authenticity. 

 

 

A road that led you somewhere

away from that quagmire in your head.

Grit between your digits was all you carried home

some patterned ware, hand died hippy fastening

authentic made in Taiwan.

Wrong continent.

 

 

Busied yourself looking for concrete

and Starbucks, anywhere which would take a visa-

as gradually the Oxen came home to starve

called by hiraeth of where they were born

raised and reseated, remains ivory by now

and the simple folks, re adjusted

pondered at the ignorance of intelligence

and watched you raise, blaze your trail

without a backpack

holding joss sticks and fatfacing their traditions

 

 

Did you find your perdition 

in that dust bowl dance

of dead earthen particulates

glued tight between your toes?

IMG_9449.JPG

 

16 responses to “On the road to calcutta

  1. interesting how we do some travels to get our head free and find something that we think we can’t at home, in our daily routine, sometimes we underestimate what it takes though… deep and good write shan

  2. I like the repetition of the first and last stanza ~ It made me think that we sought out first in the journey may not be what we came back with ~ I would like to think our travels or taking a different road, always change us somehow ~

  3. I was born in WA state, & lived in CA for a decade, searching for pieces, mountains, trees, an inland sea to remind me of my Pacific northwest. Came home in ’85, and my soul has danced in my chest ever since.

  4. Pondered sandals (that Is practical 🙂 … the locals watching the tourist… I often do wonder what they think – Lots of things to think about in this poem.

  5. I like also like the repetition of the stanza, making the poem itself a journey with us returning home. I also really liked the voice. The poem’s speaker has a keen eye and a dry sense of humor. Very cool.

    -heidi-

  6. Hmm, I wonder if there is a bit of sarcasm there about the hippy culture… At least, that’s how I read it. ‘authentic made in Taiwan’ and so on. Always on the search, but forgetting sometimes to look inside ourselves…

Put me out of my misery people!

