Id

Closed the door of self

disappeared into luscious

delicious darkness

where I was no longer classified by colour

intelligence, conformity or creed.

Mirrored walls pleaded innocence

or ignorance, in that nitrate reflective

all was equal, undisturbed, virginial.

Elongated stretch on downy neutrality

where particules travelled slowly

in waves

reminiscent of the grass that grew

mid-summer along the burgeoning

bilingual slopes of my mountain.

No concern here behind pinked eyelids,

enraptured in thrall silence

and verdant growth.

Recognition and recollection

are one and the same

some times you walk with me

and then

I

blink

31 responses to “Id

  1. Love the flow in this, Shan …from ‘delicious darkness

    where I was no longer classified by colour

    intelligence, conformity or creed.’ to ‘some times you walk with me

    and then

    I

    blink’ ~ brilliant! Loved the whole thing … πŸ™‚

  2. where I was no longer classified by colour

    intelligence, conformity or creed

    there is comfort in that, you know…love the bit about the grass on the hill as well….and the end is wonderful too shan…blink…smiles…

  3. ove this…we are so often classified by so much different things…good to escape for a bit and find that umbilical cord back to the roots, the real…great piece shan

  4. ‘enraptured in thrall silence
    and verdant growth.’

    Yes please…luscious imagery and diction throughout, a vortex of fascination, really lovely trip to your mind.

  5. This is fabulous. Really captures the essence of stream of consciousness which flows beautifully… and yes I like the blink at the end, reminding me of thought that come simply by staring and letting the mind go where it will…. and then we blink again when left brain activity kicks in. Shame! Love it.

  6. There is no greater freedom than the freedom of just being allowed to ‘Be’. Lovely flow of thought here. Some really wonderful lines and, I love the final ‘blink.

  7. So real Shan – you brought me right behind your eyelids and it was so poignant. Those hills of Northern Wales rose before me and separated me just a little from a town I love, Shrewsbury. I’d like to come back to your corner of the world Shan. We shall see each other I hope!

  8. This is really killer flow–and lovely soft description, all sort of jamming along like beautiful music. I especially liked “the burgeoning

    bilingual slopes of my mountain…” –wonderful way to personify the landscape and give it sentience.

  9. I really enjoyed this train of thought, especially this bit:

    “in that nitrate reflective

    all was equal, undisturbed, virginial.

    Elongated stretch on downy neutrality

    where particules travelled slowly

    in waves”

  10. Played in a band called Blinque one time. I liked this very much. Excellent line work. I like the shorter lines and use of aliteration. Has a great sound. Superb!

  11. Love this Shan – very lyrical and luscious – this was my favourite part

    “Elongated stretch on downy neutrality

    where particules travelled slowly

    in waves

    reminiscent of the grass that grew

    mid-summer along the burgeoning

    bilingual slopes of my mountain.”

    Nice metaphor of a bilingual mountain.

  12. delicious darkness

    where I was no longer classified by colour

    intelligence, conformity or creed.

    ust one of the passages that commended itself.

  13. Pingback: encore presentation: 2012 featured poets ~ ShΓ’n Ellis @Awdures | my heart's love songs·

Put me out of my misery people!

