Beats

Time’s metronome off-beats in ticking-tocks
one melancholic moment resonates
beneath these lustrous lights sand-slipping stops
time’s metronome, off-beats in ticking-tocks.
These precious seconds gone in Tempests clocks
they dissipate like dreams disintegrate,
time’s metronome reminds in ticking-tocks
the melancholic moments resonate.

An artist I’m familiar with at tonights bar at dVerse, go link up!

20 responses to “Beats

  1. That is actually the painting I love most by him! love the alliteration…and the word metronome really seems to carry a melancholic energy…I’m resonating…with all of this!

  2. i like the rhyhtm of this piece shan…it mirrors the ticking-tocks of the metronome…and love the metronome as a pic…for me as a musician a close tool…now brought into a completely new environment..very nicely played

  3. ah you captured bell the slow beats of time…a few quick slips with the allit here and there…very nice feel to it…and another fresh pic by him i had yet to see…tick tock…

  4. Great triolet!!!

    i can feel the metronome.

    i actually find a metronome soothing, let’s you think of other things, the rhythm makes itself.

  5. you convey images and emotions in a formal poetry form that would be impossible for anyone else, Shân! i hadn’t seen this painting ~ by far my favorite and your words only enhance it! ♥

  6. Ooooh, I love this, Shan. The flow and alliteration, the beat. I can feel the metronome and it conjures up hours of piano practice. Haven’t played in many years but I realize how music helps us in poetry.

  7. I’m intrigued that you paired an image that seems to capture a moment caught in balance with a rhythmic verse on time, the tick-tock sort of echoing the shadow-light of the picture. This is a musical look at de Chirico that I haven’t seen (and suspect I might not see again). Beautiful.

  8. Mistress of the Triolet – conqueror of the iamb! Here well used to test the clicks between the tocks off beat – no JackontheroadagainKerouacmanicmaniac here – the control and style of a true artist! Well done YOU!

  9. A triolet! I love the way you do these…I must have another crack at it sometime! I hadn’t seen this painting, but you have written to it so well…such a lovely flow and rhythm…I enjoyed it very much! x

  10. I was wondering if this was the painting you were speaking of. The layers and depth of the shadow, keeping time with the brilliancy of the write. White star fire, pulsing with every word. You brought it to life with your words! Wonderful as it always is…and so very, very happy to have you back! (it’s because of you I even know what a triolet is!)

  11. Wow you charm something of the musical out of this picture.
    Brilliant and compelling pace and fine desciption – a hypnotists delivery.

    Im in a trance – oh God now im barking – quick write something else or i might stay like this…woof.

  12. Amazingly childlike but real, those stars in the background, and I don’t think I realized a triolet could be so…surreal. (I also immediately thought of Dali and his Persistence of Memory.) You absolutely freeze-dry this moment in time–loved the third line especially.

  13. This poem holds me in the rhythm of the metronome, which strongly suggests the inescapable condition of melancholy. It calls to mind Nietzsche’s “eternal recurrence of the same” — a theme which Chirico probably knew well.

  14. ever constant the beats of the metronome ~ marking times ~ precious minutes ~ ‘the melancholic moments resonate’
    ~ ticking tock that can’t be stopped ~ mirrored the strong beat throughout this write ~ can’t get the image of the metronome or the beats out of my head ~ Brilliance !! ~ Lib

Put me out of my misery people!

