Segontium blues

You’ve not been kind to me
been broke on your fake pathos
fickle square celled fantasy
speared full in front of naked hate
you’ve not been kind to me.

I thought that “home” would treat me well
familiar faces turned to blur,
as I retreat with head hung low
been crawling long to find my feet
you’ve not been kind to me.

That history we shared has gone
been trodden on too many times,
too tired to sing this weary song
clichéd to love, and be proved wrong
you’ve not been kind to me.

Don’t make excuses as I leave
the chances spent, you rolled the die
I tried, I cared, you spat and swore
you won’t hear me say goodbye;
see? you’ve not been kind to me.

Without remorse,
one step comes two,
new life, new dawn
just without you.

10 responses to “Segontium blues

  1. Blues for a fallen empire … a love that should have lasted. And the reasons for collapse are usually b.s. — forgetting to treasure the yield. Happens, but it’s always a shame. Whaddaygonnado?

  2. this is wonderfully spun shan…intriguing the pairing of the pic as it def transcends it but seems apropo as well…

    too tired to sing this weary song
    clichéd to love, and be proved wrong

    i like these lines, they stick out to me and grabbed me…

  3. Oh Bravo!!! The layers to this are deep. The inclusion of the graphic took this to a level I don’t think I would have contemplated otherwise and man! -how I love that. Blues, deep trodden, time honored raw blues here.

  4. Time wears, as people, as nations…yet the world rolls on, and hopefully so do we. Reflective and deep – a piece that can be trailed through several layers, but most notably along the paths of the heart. Fine bit of blues for us, Shan!

  5. “see? you’ve not been kind to me.
    Without remorse,
    one step comes two,
    new life, new dawn
    just without you.”

    LOVE this! ♥ love you!

  6. I really enjoyed this on so many levels. Some people are just outright unkind, but at least we know what game they’re playing. Then there are those who are kind to us on the surface, but tear us up inside. Kind of like slowly kliing us with kindness.

Put me out of my misery people!

