Squatter

Wrap me up in your inky black
where comfortably numb I hide
Safe, embryonic ride the tide

seeping in waves upon your back
mottled monster, turning squatter
in lymph glands & adrenal sack

within I hold my pain with pride
wrap me up in your inky black

An Octain for Luke Prater’s Form Monday on One Stop Poetry

12 responses to “Squatter

  1. very nice, Shan. Read it before, loved it then, still love it. Like the grit in this, especially the lines

    mottled monster, turning squatter
    in lymph glands & adrenal sack

    also like how you’ve approached what I now know to be the biggest challenge of this form – the c/c line internal rhyme (achieving that without it feeling forced/corny)… you’ve gone for slant/half-rhyme, so it’s more subtle, and it works really well. (monster/squatter).

    Fabarama

  2. ugh. hard emo on this one as cancer had touched my fam greatly which is what it brought to my mind…well played on form as well…

Put me out of my misery people!

