Bedou بَدَوِيُّون

Golden Sinai sands caress my weary toes
skin smooth as stone from erosion of travel
in my beloved desert.
Caring not for wars of so-called holiness
to the left, to the right.
Where purity meets blood on borders.
Belonging to the shifting earth
believing in her deliverance.

I against my brother, my brothers and me against my cousins, then my cousins and I against strangers

Can’t you see my suspicion?
You, who judge me on the colour of my
sun-kissed skin.
My priority is my bayt and kin within
my business is feeding and nurturing
and they say nothing grows in the desert.
I am no djinn,
just a man
just like you.

My face may be hidden,
traditions strange and foreign
but this is my freedom
not for you to judge.

A photograph close to my heart. Goes out to my family in Syria and the Lebanon, and although we are estranged, I carry the Bedouin still in my heart, but haven’t gone as far as my sister in having it tattooed on her back 😉

تكون آمنة بلدي الأحباء، كنت احمل معي يوميا

Submitted for one shoot Sunday over at one stop poetry.

16 responses to “Bedou بَدَوِيُّون

  1. Beautiful and so touching! Your words go deep into my soul and leaves me speechless. Thank you for complementing my image with your feelings and words.

  2. i much loved..Belonging to the shifting earth… and i tremendously loved the including of the arabian signs…didn’t know you have family in syria and lebanon – but then this was tailored for you.. nicely done shan

  3. I do know of your Arabic roots, Shan, and that knowledge shines through in many details. It’s also a proactive poem calling into questions the preconceived notions of others. Nicely done.

  4. nicely played with obvious knowledge and appreciation through your family…finely textured shan…and congrats it seems are in order…

    (bows humbly)

  5. oh, wow. I learned a bit more of you in this one, S. ‘Where purity meets blood on borders. Belonging to the shifting earth believing in her deliverance.” <—my favorite lines. However, those that follow regarding the prejudices are simply something that needs to be repeated over and over again because as you said, "I am….just like you."

  6. “Caring not for wars of so-called holiness
    to the left, to the right.”

    How often people forget this, that in these places there are many who simply wish to live in peace. They do not think of wars or fighting, but of their family and their homes.

  7. This was such a lovely piece Shan, so thought provoking and just. I loved the particular lines

    ” am no djinn,
    just a man
    just like you.”

    FANTASTIC! ~ Rose

  8. Home is always etched in the being. Now you are carrying it everywhere. Does the home define you or are you the home?

    came over from Blogplicity 🙂

    Joy always,
    Susan

Put me out of my misery people!

