Older? NaPoWriMo #15

She looks at her hands.

The skin-smooth brown and firm
but not the same as the skin
stretched over holding anchored bones
all those years ago.

The same quick eyes behind thick lashes,
same giggle emerges when she laughs
feeling seventeen again
at twice that age.

not a sin is it?

Turning the page
mirror can say
what it likes.

I know differently.

4 responses to “Older? NaPoWriMo #15

  1. Seems I’ve been starring at my own hands alot lately, wondering where I’ve gone, on those days when I let my mind wonder. But then I realize, hell no! I’m still me…little older, little wiser, and that much better for it 🙂 Glad you took a brief reprieve and popped in for a tweet! Your presence has been missed. Write on, dear Shan! We’ve all been enjoying your efforts 🙂

Put me out of my misery people!

