Fatal NaPoWriMo #8

What else could I possibly write apart from an Italian Sonnet?

They sit together in this rancid cell
full tortured, starving, swearing at the fates
in anxious hours bidding last farewell
tense moments elongated, dire straits.

The fathers’ crimes reflected on the sons,
a comedy divine the thirst of greed
no solace for their pain no place to run
true guilt upon his face he doth concede.

For murder leads a man down roads to hell
“all hope abandoned all who enter here”
just waiting for the tolling of the bell
in limbo there is rather more to fear.

And so they wait to be burnt at the stake
‘tis Ugolino’s last fatal mistake.

 

Being a lover of Dante’s Inferno, and the classical fact based story of Ugolino, I couldn’t resist, there are also a few quotes in here thrown in for effect . Linking up to Brian Miller’s friday Poetically over on one stop poetry. Thanks for today’s inspiration Bri, can’t believe it’s day 8 already and I’m STILL ALIVE!!!

 

 

 

13 responses to “Fatal NaPoWriMo #8

  1. woot! way to go on day 8 and you captured a good bit of the story n your verse. as i was standing in front of this there was a guide sharing the ugolino story and i knew…and you in turn delivered…i’d say you are more than surviving on day 8 smiles.

  2. I had never heard this story before. I must look into it! The internet, especially the blogging part, is a great educator!

  3. The rhythm is perfect, Shan, and the whole sonnet extremely well put together and enjoyable to read. It almost made me forget how much I hate sonnets. ;_) Plus, I now feel I actually know something about the dysfunctional family portrayed here. Nice work.

  4. i amhonored you rememebered the Macy’s piece…yeah this statue gripped me and to hear the story being told i could not let it go…

Put me out of my misery people!

