Addict ~ A triolet

Artwork by Pypia Goshal

my body aches to feel and feed from him
intoxication, addict to his skin
the thrum of calling want, entwining limb
my body aches to feel, and take of him
to feel his exploration deep within
the desperation, wanting, craving sin
each cell is calling for the strength of him
intoxication-addict to his skin

Join me over at one stop poetry as I host this weeks take on Triolets. Can’t wait to see yours!

51 responses to “Addict ~ A triolet

  1. Nicely done, expresses much between the lines as well. And the piece on OSP is very informative, encouraging, and clear. Thanks, Shan.

  2. thank you so much for the teaching this morning…really like the sensuality of your piece…and the artistry of it…the slight change in the final line, nice…effective

  3. dare I say “hot” dear shan? ๐Ÿ™‚ but then we know touch of erotic flavor always tingles my tastebuds ๐Ÿ™‚ and let me ty ye fer doing the triolets. I learned and had fun with one as it was new form fer me ๐Ÿ™‚

    bummy / monty

    • You can say hot Bummy, you and those bibbies of yours love a bit of warmth now and again ๐Ÿ˜‰ Glad you enjoyed and thanks for your support, much appreciated

  4. Show off! ๐Ÿ™‚ Fantastic! Loved the combination, and while my cheeks may be rosie, can’t really say I’m blushing! Hot write…what more can I say, other than wonderful lesson at Onestop today. Much appreciated ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Ah the amorphous ‘him.’ Works so well to wheel an addiction around an identity, giving as it does so much room for interpretation. The poem seemed a good cross between chasing the dragon and sex, but I’m not 100% sure either of those is the sole explanation. No sense reading between the lines because, as I said, almost anything can suffice in the place of the amorphous ‘him.’ Dug the poem; both literal and figurative come together nicely. Well done.

    crb.

    • Thanks CRB that was part of the reason why I wrote it, there are many things that could be written in metaphotically under the guise of a him. I suppose I’d like the reader to decide, as I made the feel of the triolet dream like and flowing. Thanks ever so much for your popping in.

  6. great triolet Shan – quite some variation on yr A refrain there… are you going to mention that triolets stipulate no meter at all, even though they are usually written in iambic tetrameter? Very steamy write this one… hot

    • Hey Luke, thanks for your comments, I’m sticking to basics, triolet in English poetry as written from the 17th C onward are usually tetrameter (see Adelaide crups) while they may derive from the rondel and villanelle(which is also tetrameter or pentameter-correct me if I’m wrong?) as a basic instruction true to form and an introduction, I’ll keep it iambic. Seems most people have done a great job with both tetrameter and pentameter today. I put in my homework for this one; and I’m extremely chuffed with the results. thanks for saying hello! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Apologies Shรขn, you’re the expert. Don’t mean to sound like a know-it-all but unfortunately for me I can’t help it sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚
    Love your way, sister x

  8. I’m fascinated by your use of the pentametric (did I invent that word) rhythm in your poem in general, and your use of intoxication, in specific. It’s of course, the root subject of the piece, but also acts as an achor for the other words that cross the iamb on their syllabic break. And for all that math, it doesn’t diminish the beauty of your words which pull the reader in like an intoxication itself. Brilliant!

  9. I think it exist in the mathematical sense Ben, Pentameter is indeed the iamb of choice for this triolet. Thank you, I’d like to intoxicate someone with want one day lol ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. You give an amazingly contemporary and sharp feel to an ancient form here, making it read very much like free verse, even though the underlying structure is intact and plain to see. Quite a feat, imo. Very impressed–and also it’s an excellent poem in subject and impact. That sense of skin’s intoxication/addiction is strong and clear.

  11. Well….. ๐Ÿ™‚ now this was one I should have saved til evening to read because I get my own personal visuals….lol, must be the artist in me!!!!! ;D …..passionate…*sigh… projected longing strongly touching, a beauty…. ๐Ÿ™‚ nicely done! ~April

  12. Wow, steamy piece, Shan! I love your triolet. But, hey, this is supposed to give us a moment to regain our breath? Geez, I’m still panting.

  13. Pingback: beautiful poetry from Repressed Soul via Musings and Smatterings | haiku love songs·

  14. Pingback: Official World Poetry Day 2011 & poetry & poets | haiku love songs·

Put me out of my misery people!

