Hear no evil…

Having failed to write a correct version of a villanelle on Monday, I practised! Thank you to Gay, and a comprehensive run through of form, I managed to pen this villanelle. Gay, this one’s for you 😉

this country’s run by chimps in suits of gold
the chancellor himself is just an ape
they watch our glorious land be bought and sold

they reminisce about the days of old
make plans that have no formal rut or shape
this country’s run by chimps in suits of gold

we have to wrap up warm against the cold
and from the heating bill there’s no escape
they watch our glorious land be bought and sold

when even murderers they get paroled
and no ones even found out if they rape
this country’s run by chimps in suits of gold

our home-grown companies are now freehold
and then they move away due to red tape
they watch our glorious lands be bought and sold

This country is no green protective fold
Attempt to fix us their with tickertape
this country’s run by chimps in suit of gold
they watch our glorious land be bought and sold

35 responses to “Hear no evil…

  1. Perfect with a morning cup of tea, or at four a.m. when insomnia strikes, it seems… Although the topic will not lend itself you aiding my re-bedding myself anytime soon… (One of the things that keeps me up at night is the state of the world we live in)

  2. Have to admit I enjoyed the humor in your failed villanelle, but this is a very good use of the form with a much less amusing topic. And I’m afraid the ones in the gold suits are a lot smarter than the chimps–or chumps– who buy into their pitch. Good work–that Gay, she’s a wonder, too.

  3. Love this! Again, I know I’m supposed to pay very close attention to form, but I loved reading this! Simple and well paced, and the images, (I’m still smiling!) Bravo!!!

  4. I saw this being honed on the Discussion Board, but I’ll say it again – it floats my boat. Meter is flawless, and the strictures of meter and rhyme-scheme haven’t made you compromise on word-use/content (the way it should be). many fine lines; I love the ‘formal rut or shape’

    • Thanks Luke, I like writing satire to be fair, the state of this country and the world in general is something that irks me no end. I’m so glad you enjoyed, I can’t stop writing them now, I’m on my fifth, and having your second lesson in changing the refrain today has made me re look at some of them. Great Monday feature, great that you were involved! Thanks Sensei 😉

Put me out of my misery people!

