Cinquain Play

Behold
Innocence lost
Undeniable passion
reverberating heart beating
Breaking

Crapsey Cinquain (2-4-6-8-2)

A touch
Fuelling the desire and wanting
A brush of fingertips
Between lovers
Burning

Reverse cinquain (2-8-6-4-2)

Simple
How longing calls
Its hollow echo rings
Breaking the secret silences
Now still
Suffocating in stagnancy
Stifled integrity
Deafened by lack
Of noise

Butterfly Cinquain (2-8-6-4-2-8-6-2)

Inspired by the writing of Steve Isaak I was first introduced to his work a few months ago when I started to submit for one stop poetry and I’ve been hooked ever since.

I decided to pen some cinquain, mostly to push myself out of my comfort zone. My comfort zone as you can see from most of my writing is free verse and haiku.

A cinquain is a form of poetry that employs a five-line pattern, and a syllable count. There are several classes of cinquain, each with different rules and guidelines for writing.

Feel free to critique, comment etc.

8 responses to “Cinquain Play

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Cinquain Play | Musings and Smatterings -- Topsy.com·

  2. This reminds me that I need to learn more about all forms of poetry. I am totally uneducated about it all. These are wonderful, Shan! Thank you for sharing your words and the explanation. ♥

Put me out of my misery people!

