Unregistered

Deep within these hills,
Something stirs.
In the valleys
A shockwave.
Age old, it turns in its sleep,
Immortal?
Gone but never forgotten?

Mythical Warriors malign
Incoherent whisperings
Revolution on the breeze.
As autumn leaves
silently,
They make their way
Back to the earth
Where they lay.
And awaken.

Early snowdrops
bow their heads
To their words
Foreign and misunderstood.

Arthur slumbers
His mound frozen
Awaiting the time
To up in arms
For his Land
Whilst people swarm
in the lowly suburbs.
Maggots around putrification.

From the Giantess of Snowdon
To the Rock faces of Pembroke
They feel it too.
A crown, ancient, lost.
It’s gold filigree
tarnished.
It’s craftmanship
Covered in the dirt.

Fight for the detail.
Remember your heritage.
Our home,
Our language.

Something stirs.

Wars, fought and won.

surrender

Is not in our vocabulary.

My humble offering to this weeks one shop Wednesday 🙂 Where’s yours?

20 responses to “Unregistered

  1. A wonderful piece and of course, being Welsh myself born and bred (living in Cardiff), I can relate to your poem.

    Anita.

  2. Ooh. Though I’m afraid my only experience with original Welsh literature is Culhwch and Olwen, I enjoy this idea of the language and heritage becoming something that rises up from the ground.

    Plus I did always like the shorter-spoken Welsh Arthur. Seems more interesting in some ways.

  3. This is beautiful, strong and I can almost hear it recited along with one of those old tunes from Middle Ages! There is something that makes anyone reading it feel a special thing inside, a will to fight any battle ahead. I don’t know the look or the sound of Welsh, it’s a pity WP doesn’t support. I’m still happy you can write English and I can read it. =) Thanks for sharing.

    I’m also around to thank you muchly for your visit and lovely comment on my blog, Poesia Torta (Crooked Poetry). You’re on my reading list, I’ll sure be back to read you.

    Take care and keep smiling. =*

  4. I agree it is not in the Welsh vocabulary to surrender. The language is so beautiful as the people, as the land. My dearest friends are Welsh and I appreciate the culture.
    Was the picture taken in Cardiff??

    Makes me miss Wales very much

    thanks for the One Shot

    Moonie smiles

  5. Fine poem. Your contrast of the nobility of your heritage with the suburban ‘putrification’ of modern life is powerful, and valid. Too much decay, but underneath, there are things that time can’t alter in the human spirit.

  6. As I was reading I had Arthur in mind , and then there he was, and then the “never surrender” line echoes a certain famous speech. I liked this a lot.

  7. Listen, strange women lying in ponds, distributing swords, is no basis for a system of government. Supreme executive power derives from a mandate from the masses, not from some farcical aquatic ceremony!

    Any piece that evokes thoughts of Monty Python (deservedly or otherwise) is okay in my book! Nice One Shot!

  8. Shan, one day I will visit Wales again and perhaps they’ll let me see Cardiff this time. I’ll put my foot down with the vehemence you voice in this poem and say “I don’t care if you don’t understand me…there are things here I need to see and say!” Great write. Gay

  9. hello I was luck to look for your theme in baidu
    your Topics is splendid
    I obtain much in your blog really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you site is really splendid
    where can find it

Put me out of my misery people!

