As time goes by

She looks at her hands,

The skin, smooth brown and firm

But not the same as the skin

Stretched over its holding anchored bones

all those years ago.

The same eyes batter behind her lashes,

The same giggle emerges when she laughs

Feeling seventeen again

At twice that age.

Is it a sin?

Turning the page

The mirror can say

What it likes.

I know differently.

22 responses to “As time goes by

  1. cute poem,
    you played with the words well and
    hope that you have fun today!

    looking forward to your Rally post!
    cheers!
    πŸ˜‰

  2. I love this. sometimes when I pass the mirror I think I catch a glimpse of my mother and yet I feel so much younger! Gee, times catches up with us quickly!

  3. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  4. I love the way you write, Shan.

    I don’t think we ever feel as old as our bodies. Maybe if we are very ill, I don’t know. I feel 20 years younger than I am. I think because my best friend is my daughter and that’s how old she is. My mother never felt her age – in her 80’s she refused to associate with “old people” in their 70’s.

Put me out of my misery people!

