Even the horizon casts a shadow,
chill in the memory, cherished
and vanished through voices, hushed.

There was something here I was meant to learn,
as the sun set watery grey
behind the veil of falling cloud.

There was something here I was meant to find,
perhaps in the saline kiss
of the breaking waves.

It passed, leaving hues of wonder
on an inquisitive mind,
too idle for god particulates.

As the darkness came to swallow me whole,
or strip me of the person I had become,
I had no choice,
but to light the flame
and live.

8 responses to “

  1. I like this. It speaks to those full moments that hold mystery, but somehow we just aren’t ready for the meaning. My favorite part:

    “It passed, leaving hues of wonder
    on an inquisitive mind,
    too idle for god particulates.”

  2. Beautiful, beautiful….I love the path your poetry has taken….perfectly captures a ‘moment’ as the sun sets…love this! :)

    • But I like long and complicated words and double meanings *sad face* hahaa I haven’t had much time for a deep-thinking complex poem for a while. Working on one here. See what form for all on d’verse has to offer this week x I’m turning sawft in my old age.

  3. Fantastic poem Shan, so much to love in these few lines. ‘Saline kisses’ as you wait for that which cannot be found, watery grey setting sun. I just love it all :) x

Put me out of my misery people!

